Thank you for signing up to our email!

Now, before you leave, do you want to make a seal's day?

Sausalito Volunteers


Volunteer Opportunities 

Volunteers in Sausalito help in almost every aspect of our organization. Click on the volunteer opportunities below to learn more about the training and commitment requirements for each opportunity.

 Animal Care Crew

 Rescue and Response*

Education

Youth Crew** (High school students)

Administrative Support

 Gift Store and Guest Services

Fish Kitchen Support**

Corporate Groups

* The Marine Mammal Center is NOT accepting new applicants for Rescue & Response at this time. Those interested in Rescue & Response should check back in 2020.

** For most of our volunteer opportunities, participants must be at least 18 years old and out of high school, however, we do offer our Youth Crew Volunteer Program and Fish Kitchen Support shifts for high school students 15 years of age and older.


The first step to become a Sausalito volunteer is to attend an Open House***

Open Houses are held on site in the Discovery Classroom at our main hospital in Sausalito, CA. Registration is required as space is limited. Review the different volunteer opportunities linked above to learn more about the duties and expectations for each role. Please note that you do not need to attend an Open House to volunteer as a Fish Kitchen Support volunteer or for the Youth Crew program.

***Open House meetings focus on our regular adult volunteer opportunities for adults 18 years of age and older and who are no longer in high school. High school students interested in the Youth Crew Program will attend a different information session.


Below are the dates for our upcoming Open House meetings. Please note: Open House registration will open at noon a month prior to the event. Please check back to this page of our website to register.

 
2019 Open House Dates
 
Open House Time
Register Online Here at Noon
on the Following Dates
Thursday, January 3 7:00pm-9:00pm Thursday, December 6
Wednesday, January 30 (FULL) 7:00pm-9:00pm Sunday, December 30
Saturday, February 2 (FULL) 9:00am-11:00am Wednesday, January 2
Tuesday, March 12 3:30pm-5:30pm Saturday, February 23
Tuesday, March 12 (FULL) 7:00pm-9:00pm Tuesday, February 12
Saturday, April 13 (FULL) 1:00pm-3:00pm Wednesday, March 13
Thursday, June 13 (FULL) 7:00pm-9:00pm Monday, May 13
Thursday, August 8 (FULL) 7:00pm-9:00pm Tuesday, July 9
Saturday, August 17 (FULL) 9:00am-11:00am Wednesday, July 17
     
Wednesday, October 16* 7:00pm-9:00pm Monday, September 16

We are NOT accepting applicants for Rescue & Response for the Oct 16 Open House

   
  2020 Open House dates will be posted in December 2019  


Volunteer Application Process: Following the Open House, prospective volunteers must complete an application, phone interview, and background check before being accepted into the volunteer program. Please know that volunteering at the Center may not be the right fit for everyone. Once accepted, volunteers are required to attend an Orientation Meeting and role specific training. The on-boarding process usually takes one to two months, but may be longer depending on role preference and time of year.


Questions?

Email us at volunteer@tmmc.org.


Visit Us

Our hospital in the Marin Headlands is open daily!

Visit!
Visit The Marin Headlands
Adopt Silkster!

Protect threatened and endangered species.

ADOPT NOW!
Guadalupe fur seal Silkster
Be The Hero!

Use your super powers and join monthly today!

Roar!
Elephant seal hero